Nine Seeds

All forms of nature are believed to interact and influence one another, be they are of this earth, or of space. This interaction and influence is often reflected in the linking of cosmic influences of planets and starts to life forms on earth. The Navadhanyas (or the nine seeds) and their respective Navagrahas (nine cosmic influences) are :

  1. Yava (barley) represents Aditya (sun)
  2. Shamaka (little millet) represents the moon, and is responsible for the stimulation, circulation and balancing
  3. Togari (pigeon pea) represents Mangala (Mars), which is responsible for the controlling of the nervous system
  4. Madga (Mung) represents Budha (Mercury) and stimulates intelligence
  5. Kadale (Chickpea) represents Brihaspati (Jupiter)
  6. Tandula (rice) represents Shukra (Venus)
  7. Til (Seasame) represents Shani (Saturn) and is characterized by oil
  8. Maasha (Black Gram) represents Rahu
  9. Kulittha (Horse Gram) represents Ketu



“Annam Food as Health

“NO MORE BHOPAL” Call for Organic India

“NO MORE BHOPAL” Call for Organic India

People's Assembly

Bija Swaraj is our Birthright


A to Z 2016

The Mango Festival, Amrapali

Monsanto Vs Indian Farmers

 Earth Journeys to explore Indian Biodiversity and Food Heritage

Dal Yatra 2016

Sarson Satyagraha

Seed Satyagraha (Civil Disobedience to End SeedSlavery)

Sugarcane Festival

Food Smart Citizens for Food Smart Cities

Seed Freedom

Gandhi Courses

Sign the Petition for the Rights of Mother Earth


Mailing List

Find Us on Facebook

Dr Vandana Shiva's Twitter